Fueling the Climate Crisis: Exposing Big Oil’s Disinformation Campaign to Prevent Climate Action

Meeting Status: 
Meeting Notes: 
This hearing will convene in room 2154 of the Rayburn House Office Building and over Zoom, which has been approved by the House.
Thursday, October 28, 2021 - 10:30am
2154 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515
“Fueling the Climate Crisis: Exposing Big Oil’s Disinformation Campaign to Prevent Climate Action”

Chairwoman Carolyn B. Maloney's Opening Statement [PDF]

Washington D.C. (October 22, 2021)— On Thursday, October 28, 2021, at 10:30 a.m. ET, Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney, the Chairwoman of the Committee on Oversight and Reform, and Rep. Ro Khanna, the Chairman of the Subcommittee on the Environment, will hold a hearing to examine the fossil fuel industry’s long-running, industry-wide campaign to spread disinformation about the role of fossil fuels in causing global warming. 


The fossil fuel industry has had scientific evidence about the dangers of climate change since at least 1977.  Yet for decades, the industry spread denial and doubt about the harm of its products—undermining the science and preventing meaningful action on climate change even as the global climate crisis became increasingly dire, and its deadly impact on Americans increased. 


More recently, some large fossil fuel companies took public stances in support of climate actions while privately continuing to block reforms, invest overwhelmingly in fossil fuel extraction, and support efforts to extend the life of fossil fuel investments.  The industry reportedly spends billions to promote climate disinformation through branding and lobbying.   Moreover, they increasingly outsource lobbying to trade groups, obscuring their own roles in disinformation efforts. 


On September 16, 2021, the Chairs sent letters to top fossil fuel executives requesting documents and communications related to their organization’s role in supporting disinformation and misleading the public to prevent action on the climate crisis.  To date, all the fossil fuel entities have failed to adequately comply with the Committee’s request.


Mr. Darren Woods

Chief Executive Officer

ExxonMobil Corporation                   


Mr. David Lawler

Chief Executive Officer

BP America Inc.


Mr. Michael K. Wirth

Chief Executive Officer

Chevron Corporation


Ms. Gretchen Watkins


Shell Oil Company


Mr. Mike Sommers


American Petroleum Institute


Ms. Suzanne Clark

President and Chief Executive Officer

U.S. Chamber of Commerce


Mr. Neal Crabtree (Minority witness)

Former Welding Foreman

Keystone XL Pipeline


117th Congress