Confronting White Supremacy (Part VII): The Evolution of Anti-Democratic Extremist Groups and the Ongoing Threat to Democracy

Meeting Notes: 
The hearing will convene in room 2154 of the Rayburn House Office Building and over Zoom, which has been approved by the House.
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 - 10:00am
2154 Rayburn House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515

Chairman Jamie Raskin's Opening Statement [PDF]

Chairwoman Carolyn B. Maloney's Opening Statement [PDF]


Washington D.C. (Dec. 12, 2022)—On Tuesday, December 13, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. ET, Rep. Jamie Raskin, Chairman of the Subcommittee on Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, will hold a hearing to examine the ongoing threat to American democracy posed by white supremacist ideologies, and how the federal government can confront domestic terrorist threats. 


White supremacist ideology undergirds the core tenets of other forms of extremism that have become more prominent in recent years, including conspiracy theories like QAnon, the anti-LGBTQI+ movement, and the election denial and anti-government rhetoric that contributed to the attack on the Capitol on January 6, 2021.  The FBI and DHS have recognized white supremacy as the deadliest domestic terror threat facing the United States. 


This is the final hearing in the Subcommittee’s “Confronting Violent White Supremacy” series, which highlighted the sprawling nature of the domestic terrorism threat and detailed the consequences of inaction by contextualizing the proliferation of white nationalism and political violence.



Alejandra Caraballo

Clinical Instructor, Cyberlaw Clinic

Harvard Law School


Mary McCord

Executive Director of the Institute for Constitutional Advocacy and Protection

Georgetown University Law Center


Oren Segal

Vice President of the Center on Extremism

Anti-Defamation League


Amanda Tyler

Executive Director

Baptist Joint Committee for Religious Liberty

Eric Ward
Executive Vice President, Race Forward
Senior Advisor, Western States Center


Asra Nomani (minority witness)
Senior Fellow in the Practice of Journalism
Independent Women’s Network

117th Congress